one woman's view into a world of creativity

Cara Barer Photography

http://www.carabarer.com/

While blog-browsing this evening, blogger grooveTOAST led me to Cara Barer’s website.  This photographer arranges books and such into attractive new sculptural forms, and photographs them from selective perspectives.

“I arrive at some of my images by chance. Others, through experimentation. Without these two elements, my work would not flow easily from one idea to the next. A random encounter on Drew Street with the Houston Yellow Pages was the primary inspiration for this project. After that chance meeting, I began the search for more books, and more methods to change their appearance.
I realized I owned many books that were no longer of use to me, or for that matter, anyone else. Would I ever need “Windows 95?” After soaking it in the bathtub for a few hours, it had a new shape and purpose. Half Price Books became a regular haunt, and an abandoned house gave me a set of outdated reference books, complete with mold and neglect. Each book tells me how to begin according to its size, type of paper, and sometimes contents.”

Looking through her gallery exposed me to a form of art I had never encountered before.   Such encounters are a pleasure, and experiences I hope to chronicle and share to the like-minded.  That is one purpose of this blog.

Maze by Cara Barer

Leave a Reply

