one woman's view into a world of creativity

Halloween Continued…

Since my last post was about my Na’vi Halloween, I thought I’d continue the theme with my pumpkin carving on All Hallows.  Usually I do something pretty traditional with a Jack-o-Lantern grin, but this year I wanted to mix it up.  One of the pumpkins I carved was inspired by my two cats, Jack and Rascal.  Both are utterly adorable, but it was Jack who particularly inspired this carving.  Jack is a red classic tabby, which in common speak is orange.  He’s a nice pumpkin orange, in fact.

Kitty Carving

As you can see in the photos, I carved a cat-face on my pumpkin, and I think it matches the inspiration rather well.  Usually I draw the design on first with a Sharpie marker.  (The black lines can later be removed with fingernail-polish remover and a cotton ball.)  Then I cut out the negative spaces of the design with sharp knives and tools from a pumpkin-carving kit.  This grinning kitty Jack-o-Lantern (ironically inspired by a cat named Jack) sat on our steps Halloween night and greeted all zero of our trick-or-treaters!  Belated happy Halloween everyone!

Comments on: "Halloween Continued…" (2)

  1. Maybe it’s obvious, but you might search for other blogs with similar contents, and visit.

    It may give you ideas, and if you leave comments people will come to see what you have on display.

    It helps make friends and will get your things some exposure.

    It takes a while to get exposure, so be patient.

  2. Too bad the Jack o’lantern face is turned directly toward us when Jack is looking directly at the camera. Cat’s are going to be that cooperative though.

Leave a Reply

