one woman's view into a world of creativity

Creative Recreation

So it’s pretty apparent I’ve fallen behind in the blogging department, but I reserve the right to blog as much or as little as I like.  Right now, I’d like to be blogging a little more than I have.  But I have a good excuse.  I’ve been VERY busy with my artwork this break.  More so than ever before.  I painted the Kappa Kappa Gamma owl for my friend, made another paper mache dragon, fiddled with my new glue gun and tried to make a plastic rose, and just recently painted another divider page for the college yearbook (pictures to come as soon as I buy a memory chip for my new Canon).  So I’m quite pleased with my artistic productivity.

Aside from the actual art I’ve been creating, another thing I’ve spent a lot of time on is Assassin’s Creed 2.  Yeah, I’m a girl gamer.  This sequel has been improved so much from the first, and was a delight to play because all of the historical connections.  I just finished taking an art history course on Renaissance to Modern art.  While playing Assassin’s Creed 2, set in Renaissance Italy, I got to climb on many of the buildings I had learned about, such as the Santa Maria Novella, the Santa Maria del Fiore, and the Santa Maria Croce, to name a very few.  As you gallivant around Florence, Tuscany, and Venice you get opportunities to buy artwork for your in-game villa, including many notables such as La Primavera, the Birth of Venus, various works by da Vinci, Sleeping Venus by Giorgione, and many more.    But it’s not over yet!  You actually get to interact with an NPC Leonardo da Vinci, utilizing his genius to expand your weaponry.  At one point you even get to try out da Vinci’s famous flying machine! Being able to make these connections to my class just increased the joy of playing this game, and I highly recommend it (even if you’re not an art history fan).

Now that I’m back at school I won’t be playing xbox anymore, but I will hopefully be doing some more blogging.  I’ve got a lot of exciting ideas and commentary I’d like to share, so stay tuned.

Comments on: "Creative Recreation" (3)

  1. Sarah Parrish said:

    Okay, it’s official. I’m going to have to play this game!

  2. Do you cross post your Facebook posts on your blog and vice versa?? That can economize on effort and promote your blog.

    I don’t much, as a lot of my blog posts are conservative bashing, and I don’t want to upset the my fB friends who tend to live in Idaho, and as best I can tell are all quite conservative to person.

  3. […] So it's pretty apparent I've fallen behind in the blogging department, but I reserve the right to blog as much or as little as I like.  Right now, I'd like to be blogging a little more than I have.  But I have a good excuse.  I've been VERY busy with my artwork this break.  More so than ever before.  I painted the Kappa Kappa Gamma owl for my friend, made another paper mache dragon, fiddled with my new glue gun and tried to make a plastic rose, a … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

