one woman's view into a world of creativity

Vincent

This is a beautiful song by Don McLean about Vincent Van Gogh, the melancholy artist infamous for cutting off part of his ear and presenting it to a woman.  McLean creates such a serene yet lamenting tone in his presentation of the song.  The YouTube user also did a great job of presenting some of Van Gogh’s work in synch with the tune.  My favorite line in the song: “weathered faces lined in pain are soothed beneath the artist’s loving hand.”  Do you know of any art-inspired music?

Comments on: "Vincent" (3)

  1. Sarah Parrish said:

    “But I could have told you, Vincent, this world was never meant for someone as beautiful as you.”

    That always makes me cry.

  2. Mona Lisa was a very popular song in the 1950’s I think. Long before I was born of course.

  3. […] response to my inquiry for art-inspired songs on my Vincent post, I was directed to the song Mona Lisa sung by Nat King Cole.  He has such an incredible […]

Leave a Reply

