one woman's view into a world of creativity

Envelope Inspiration

Using recycled materials is not only a good way to be “green” for the environment, it’s also a great way to save some “green” for your pocketbook.  Many a time I have come across a mundane object and envisioned a new, creative use for it.  Today I would like to share one such source of inspiration in hopes that you may apply it to your own crafting projects.  I introduce to you: the inside security tint envelope.

You may or may not have noticed that the insides of some envelopes have printed patterns.  These usually fine and homogenous patterns are designed to keep the contents of the envelope secret from prying eyes (the old hold it up to the light and try to read it trick).  The security-tint effectively eliminates the transparency of the white paper and protects your mail, but they also make free craft-paper.  I’ve saved a few samples in my craft-paper collection, and I’d like to share them with you.

I recommend cutting up your security-tint envelopes for the usable sections and employing them in greeting-cards.  They also could be great in scrapbooking.  Really, the possibilities are only limited by your inspiration, so I hope this tip comes in handy. 🙂  If you use this idea in one of your future projects, I’d love to see your security-tint creations.

*UPDATE* 04-07-11
Here are some more patterns I’ve collected since.

DOUBLE UPDATE:  https://artperspective.wordpress.com/2011/05/31/security-envelope-patterns/ (more patterns)

Security Pattern Craft Idea: https://artperspective.wordpress.com/2011/06/22/fathers-day-card/

Comments on: "Envelope Inspiration" (3)

  1. […] blogged in a previous post about Security Envelope Tints, and how I was saving them as craft materials.  My collection has grown, and I decided to scan […]

  2. […] started out with the desire to use some of my security envelope tints in a craft, and use them for inspiration and materials.  I have a lot of black and white envelope patterns, so I started with a black and white color […]

  3. […] February 17th, 2011 I first blogged about the inside security tint envelope, also known as the security pattern envelope.  Little did I know that it would be such a popular […]

Leave a Reply

