one woman's view into a world of creativity

Design Motif

I’ve been wanting to blog for quite some time now, but spring term is already kicking my butt!  Only now, on a Friday, do I finally have enough time to share some creative thoughts.

This term I’m taking Introduction to Design, and this week we finished our first project.  The assignment was to design a square motif solely in black and white, and then repeat it approximately twenty times to create an overall design.  Afterwards we critiqued each other’s projects based on the concepts we’ve been learning, like balance, ground reversal, proximity, transparency etc.

I settled upon a geometric design based upon a grid pattern.  I chose this because it would be easier to replicate with accuracy than to precisely draw organic forms.  Each square was 3.5 x 3.5 inches, and designed so as to interlock seamlessly.  The design is very fine and detailed, and I nearly went crazy trying to finish it on time.  I probably spent 8-10 hours on the entire project, and boy did my fingers and knuckles feel it!  I’m pleased with the result, and look forward to modifying it our next project.  I’m not sure how I feel about one upward “hook” that seems to stick out without having a balancing downward pull elsewhere.  In class we concluded that since the elbow shaped segment does not continue on the other side of its intersecting line, the mind perceives it as separate.  I also wonder if I should have included more black shapes to balance the black and white grounds, or if the predominantly white ground creates a pleasing sense of space.  My professor was most pleased with the “meandering” effect of the interlocking lines, for they pull the eye across the image.

For the project I’ve been using a black Sakura PIGMA Micron 01 tip archival pen as well as a black Prismacolor Premier double-ended art marker (P.S. I’m in love with Prismascolor products).  I was pleased with both.  The Micron lays down a wonderfully fine line, while the Prismacolor Premier worked excellently for filling in larger spaces quickly.  My only concern with the Premier was its ink flow.  I had to work quickly and run parallel to my lines but not exactly against them because the ink had a tendency to bleed.  I’m not sure if this was caused by the pen itself or the illustration board I was working on.  Nevertheless, I was able to compensate for the bleed-effect and get a satisfactory result.  I would rather have an easy flow and adjust my marks than have a dry pen that required multiple layers for a solid fill.  Overall I recommend both of these products, and look forward to putting them through the paces in future projects.  By the way, I am not advertising for anyone, but instead providing honest feedback from one artist to another.  I understand that the quality of an artist’s products can be an important factor in his or her creations, and knowing what quality products to use can prevent needless stress and/or accidents.

Comments on: "Design Motif" (4)

  1. Sarah Parrish said:

    I’m going to have to try that Prismacolor marker, though I don’t know that in the future I’ll be doing much more work with marker. I tend to stick to ink pens myself unless markers are specifically required.

    This project caught my attention because it is so similar to the one we completed a few weeks ago in my own beginning design class. The difference between our projects is that ours was on a square piece of Bristol and we were not allowed to make symmetrical designs (asymmetry is the name of the game in our class–you live it, you breathe it, and if you fail to make your project completely asymmetrical, you fail your project.)

    You’re design is very aesthetically pleasing, and I especially like the “cyber” look. 🙂

  2. nice pattern, reminds me of a circuit board.

    • Thanks! I agree, and ironically I watched the movie Tron: Legacy while in the middle of this project. Now I look at it and see “The Grid.”

  3. J. Christina Hodgson said:

    I was reminded of an office floor plan with a gazillion cubicles all the same and without any passable corridors between them. For fun, here is some cubicle sculpture/installation art.
    http://www.thiscrazyweb.com/awesome-office-cubicle-pranks-21-pics/

    I like the repeating design. I think you could sell it as humorous wrapping paper … but for mass appeal, team up with whoever owns the image of Dilbert and superimpose one Dilbert figure (in color) every 5 inches or so.

    http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://s4.hubimg.com/u/766503_f520.jpg&imgrefurl=http://hubpages.com/hub/List-of-Famous-Cartoon-Characters—Part-2&h=823&w=520&sz=32&tbnid=jeaxRGzin9zOnM:&tbnh=144&tbnw=91&prev=/images%3Fq%3Ddilbert%2Bcartoon%2Bcharacter&zoom=1&q=dilbert+cartoon+character&usg=__15lxfIer-i9Gu4ryKoO9OeOAzkQ=&sa=X&ei=-b5oTcGGAYr6sAPCpc1G&ved=0CDsQ9QEwAw

Leave a Reply

