one woman's view into a world of creativity

One Minute Space Painting

A friend on Facebook directed me to this incredible YouTube clip.  This artist has perfected his craft to the highest efficiency.  With a minimum of colors, spritzes, lines and rubs Brandon McConnell creates spray paint pieces of art in one minute or less.  I think this incredibly short period of working time demonstrates how much practice he has put in to understanding the core elements of his craft.  He must have put in a lot of time to cut down the time. 😉 

But watching this video raised a question for me.  Does demonstrating to his fans how little time he puts into the pieces lower their value?  Generally one of the common criteria of value and skill is the time put into the piece, is it not?  Or does the novelty of the method give them their value (about 50 bucks a piece)? But if I can get $50 for a minute of work, I better bust out the spray paint and start learning!

How do you judge the value of art?  What criteria must be met for you to be willing to invest in a piece of artwork?

Comments on: "One Minute Space Painting" (1)

  1. Sarah Parrish said:

    Umm….yeah, I’d buy that for $50!!

    You’re right in that most of the time we think something must take a long time to be worth such a hefty sum, but I know I’ve had projects that I put whole weeks into and even my own mother wouldn’t have paid more than $.50 for them. Of course, I’m not a professional, so it’s hardly a comparison.

    The simple fact that he can create something so amazing in such little time is what makes his art worth the price. Spray paint is a fairly cheap material, especially compared to other media–for instance, the same exact work in oil paint on canvas would cost hundreds of dollars (exaggerating slightly).

    The price tag doesn’t come from the number of hours or the expense of the material he puts into the work, but the amount of skill.

    We live in a society that values skill and we are quite willing to pay a large price for a skilled professional’s work.

    As for time, our society is constantly trying to cut down on the amount of time it takes to produce results, often sacrificing quality in the process. I don’t know that that applies here. He has cut down (rather drastically!!) on the amount of time it takes him to produce a piece of art, but as long as the quality of his art has remained consistent (or gotten better) it is still worth as much or more than a piece that took several hours/days/months/etc.

    To invest in a piece of artwork, it has to mean something to me, even if it’s just a small feeling. It has to amaze me and be worth the expenditure. Right now, I am not at a stage in my life when I would be willing to pay several thousand dollars for a painting, but there are certainly pieces that would cause me to put down a lot of money for them.

    For instance, check out Chris Wilhelm. His art is currently on exhibit at the Salem Public Library (he’s a local artist.) He sells t-shirts and posters of some of his pieces (posters are $20-30), and I have contacted him about buying a couple (posters–his art is mostly oil/acrylic on canvas and has price tags in the thousands.)

    http://www.chriswilhelmart.com/wp/?page_id=8

    My personal favorites are “Creationism,” “Jenenji’s Dream,” and “Alizaron Sands.” Unfortunately, he doesn’t have a poster of that last one (my ultimate favorite) and I don’t have $1700 to buy it, or I would.

Leave a Reply

