one woman's view into a world of creativity

Jump Creek Canyon

 
Over spring break I had the opportunity to visit Jump Creek Canyon and do some hiking.  While there I couldn’t resist taking some pretty photos.  In particular, I kept taking photos of a friend as he approached the canyon edge.  It was a majestic pose, perched precariously next to the drop with the canyon side opposite.  This overlook triggered a memory of a famous painting from art history, and I kept taking photos in an effort to capture the similarity.  Turns out I was right, and the pictures reminded me of Wanderer above the Sea of Fog by Caspar David Friedrich. 

In looking through the multitude of photos, turns out one of the pictures mirrors Wanderer perfectly!  He didn’t even know I was taking pictures, and this snapshot replicates the Wanderer’s pose down to the walking stick!  What a coincidence.  Have you ever intentionally or unintentionally replicated a famous piece of art?

Comments on: "Jump Creek Canyon" (1)

  1. […] Project.  The contest accepted entries of remakes of famous artwork.  It also reminds me of my coincidental recreation of Wanderer above a Sea of Fog. It’s really neat looking at all the submissions.  Some are […]

Leave a Reply

