one woman's view into a world of creativity

Fool’s House Broom

So we have this decrepit old broom sitting by our garage.  The handle has lost almost all of its paint and the bristles bend at a permanent angle.  We use it in the winter to sweep snow off of things, but ever since I moved home from college, all I can think when I see it is Jasper Johns.  I took a course in Modern Art this spring, and one of the pieces of art I had to memorize was Fool’s House, by Jasper Johns.  Fool’s House features a real broom mounted on a canvas with gray oil paint and stenciling behind it.  The broom in the work by Johns is old with bristles bent at a similar angle to our snow broom, so the one brings to mind the other.  I just thought I’d share this amusing perspective on how the things we learn can color the way we see things in real life.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 482 other followers

