one woman's view into a world of creativity

As a student on the path to certification as an art teacher, I’m obviously biased in favor of this blogging post. But I think the author does a good job explaining the argument of pro-art, and their language mirrors what I’ve come across in some of my other education classes. It seems that art is misunderstood and undervalued because of its subjective status, something I hope to post about later.  I want to emphasize that I think the core of this post is not that history should be eliminated from the curriculum, but the question of why is history valued more than art?

When schools are faced with a budget crunch, as so many are, art teachers and art classes are among the first to go on the chopping block. As the New York Times reports, this appears to be the case in New York City: For the first time in four years, the number of certified arts teachers in the city’s public schools is declining, according to a report to be released by the Center for Arts Education on Thursday. In 2009-2010, there were 135 fewer a … Read More

via  Modeled Behavior

Comments on: "Down with History (via  Modeled Behavior)" (1)

  1. […] spanning two to three pages struck me the most of everything I read.  As touched upon in Down with History, art is less valued than other subjects, and I think Palmer hit the bullseye of why.  Art is […]

Leave a Reply

