one woman's view into a world of creativity

Phantom Silk

Tonight I went to an event called Winter Charity Ball.  It’s put on by Delta Tau Delta for the campus community.  To get in, you bring an unwrapped toy or a minimum $5 donation, which go to support needy children through Toys for Tots and The Salvation Army.  It helps provide children with gifts during the holiday season.

The event is super classy, with formal attire.  There’s a live band, swing dancing, refreshments, and general socializing with great ambiance.  I went in a silk gown that ripples beautifully in the light.  Afterwards, as I walked back to my room in the dark, the lamps lighting the sidewalk cast a beautiful glow on the moving silk.  The bottom edge of the gown rolled in waves with each step, and I couldn’t help but admire its beauty.  I thought it was very inspiring, so I pulled out my camera, turned off the flash, switched it to multi-capture mode, and started snapping pictures as I walked.

With the poor, night lighting, and the constant movement of my steps, the pictures produced phantom waves of the rippling silk.  The images are very abstract and gorgeous, so I wanted to share.  This sort of random inspiration is the reason I decided to start this blog and share the everyday beauty from my point of view.  I’ve created a slideshow of the best shots from my walk back.  I think they are best appreciated out of context, when you don’t look at them for a physical subject matter, but instead appreciate the abstract gradiants and the veins of light. Enjoy. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

